2012 U.S. Olympic Rowing Team Lineups Announced

London looms (Photo: © B. Kitch)
The 2012 U.S. Olympic Rowing Team lineups are now known (though the alternates have yet to be officially named), with the final three crews announced this afternoon, pending final approval by the USOC. The U.S. will have crews entered in all events, with the exceptions of the men's double and men's lightweight double. Following two silver medals (in two appearances) on the World Rowing Cup circuit this summer in the women's pair, Beijing gold medalists Elle Logan and Erin Cafaro have returned to the eight, and will enter the 2012 Games as defending champs in the event. The women's quad contains three-of-four athletes from last year's silver medal crew in Bled, with the addition of Kara Kohler (who began rowing only three years ago, and got her first experience sculling internationally at Henley last summer, later winning gold in the W4- in Bled). The men's quad is without either Warren Anderson or Sam Stitt, both of whom were named to the Beijing squad, and contains Stanford alum Alex Osborne, who began sculling at the elite level this season following two appearances in the U.S. men's eight at the World Championships (2009 and 2011).

U.S. Team lineups for London listed below, with universities:

Men’s Single Sculls
Ken Jurkowski (Cornell)

Women’s Single Sculls
Gevvie Stone (Princeton)

Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls
Julie Nichols (California)
Kristin Hedstrom (Wisconsin)

Women’s Double Sculls
Margot Shumway (The Ohio State)
Sarah Trowbridge (Michigan)

Men’s Pair
Silas Stafford (Stanford)
Tom Peszek (Michigan)

Women’s Pair
Sarah Zelenka (Grand Valley State)
Sara Hendershot (Princeton)

Lightweight Men’s Four
Robin Prendes (Princeton)
Nick LaCava (Columbia)
Will Newell (Harvard)
Anthony Fahden (Dartmouth)

Men’s Four
Scott Gault (Washington)
Charlie Cole (Yale)
Henrik Rummel (Harvard)
Glenn Ochal (Princeton)

Men’s Quadruple Sculls
Alex Osborne (Stanford)
Peter Graves (Trinity College)
Wes Piermarini (UMass)
Elliot Hovey (California)

Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Adrienne Martelli (Washington)
Kara Kohler (California)
Megan Kalmoe (Washington)
Natalie Dell (Penn State)

Men’s Eight
Zach Vlahos (California)
Grant James (Wisconsin)
David Banks (Stanford)
Steve Kasprzyk (Drexel)
Jake Cornelius (Stanford)
Brett Newlin (Washington)
Ross James (Wisconsin)
Will Miller (Northeastern)
Giuseppe Lanzone (Washington)

Women’s Eight
Mary Whipple (Washington)
Caryn Davies (Harvard)
Caroline Lind (Princeton)
Eleanor Logan (Stanford)
Meghan Musnicki (Ithaca College)
Taylor Ritzel (Yale)
Erin Cafaro (California)
Esther Lofgren (Harvard)
Susan Francia (Penn)

For more on the athletes and the announcement, please visit the official website of USRowing and RowingNews.com.


Popular posts from this blog

The 30 Best Rowing Coaches of All Time, Part 3: The Top 10

"I Row Crew" — Rowing in 'The Social Network'

Video Of The Week: Holland Beker 2013

The 30 Best Rowing Coaches of All Time, Part 1

Best Rowing Drills: 5 Favorites of Olympic Champion Esther Lofgren